The CBS Television Network, home of Super Bowl XLVII, begins its 53rd year broadcasting the NFL with regional coverage as THE NFL ON CBS kicks off its 2012 NFL season broadcast schedule on Sunday, Sept. 9 (1:00-4:00 PM, ET) beginning with THE NFL TODAY (12:00 NOON-1:00 PM, ET) with James Brown, Dan Marino, Bill Cowher, Shannon Sharpe and Boomer Esiason, live from THE NFL TODAY studio in New York City. Photo Cr.: John P. Filo/CBS CBS ¾?¬©2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved copyright:

CBS axes Dan Marino, Shannon Sharpe from NFL Today coverage

The NFL is going to be coming to CBS at least twice a week this upcoming football season as the network struck a deal earlier this month to land a coveted Thursday Night package of games. But with the new games comes changes to the NFL Today crew as two familiar faces will not be back in 2014 on the pregame show.

According to a press release from CBSSports, both Dan Marino and Shannon Sharpe have been let go by the network and are out of jobs at the moment.

While we welcome Tony, we want to acknowledge Dan Marino and Shannon Sharpe who have contributed greatly to the success ofThe NFL Today for more than a decade. Dan and Shannon are true Hall of Famers on the field and in front of the camera. As they pursue other professional opportunities, we thank them for their hard work and dedication and wish them nothing but the best.

Both Marino and Sharpe have been with the CBS NFL Today crew for a number of years and their departure will not sit well with everyone.

Still, the network is replacing the two with future Hall of Fame tight end Tony Gonzalez as the two-for-one swap seems to be related to the massive price tag that CBS just picked up to carry Thursday Night games in 2014.

Tags: NFL TV Shows

comments powered by Disqus