'BET Awards' 2014: Full List of Winners

The 2014 BET Awards were held on Sunday, as the night honored some of Hollywood’s biggest stars.

Hosted by comedian Chris Rock, the annual BET Awards started off a little rocky, with one man shot to death and another stabbed in two separate pre-show incidents. Rock used the violent incidents as part of his opening monologue joking that the BET Awards are truly the only award show where people have to worry about their safety. Rock proved to be a memorable emcee, as he took the page of 2014 Oscar host Ellen DeGeneres by passing out chicken and waffles to the guests in attendance.

Beyonce, Pharrell Williams and Twelve Years a Slave were the nights biggest winners. Beyonce and Twelve Years a Slave each managed to nab three awards, while Williams took home two awards.

The night’s other winners include Drake, who managed to beat out Jay Z for best male hip hop star and Nicki Minaj who took home the award for best female hip hop star. The 2014 ceremony also honored Lionel Richie with the lifetime achievement award.

Here is the complete list of winners from the 2014 BET Awards (winners are in bold):

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist
Janelle Monáe
Jhené Aiko
K. Michelle
Tamar Braxton

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist
Pharrell Williams 
August Alsina
Chris Brown
John Legend
Justin Timberlake

Best Collaboration
Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – “Drunk In Love” 
August Alsina f/ Trinidad Jame$ – “I Luv This”
Drake f/ Majid Jordan – “Hold On (We’re Going Home)”
JAY Z f/ Justin Timberlake – “Holy Grail”
Robin Thicke f/ T.I. & Pharrell Williams – “Blurred Lines”
YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – “My Hitta”

Best Movie
12 Years a Slave 
The Best Man Holiday
Fruitvale Station
Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain
Lee Daniels’ The Butler

Best Actress
Lupita Nyong’o 
Angela Bassett
Gabrielle Union
Kerry Washington
Oprah Winfrey

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor 
Forest Whitaker
Idris Elba
Kevin Hart
Michael B. Jordan

Video of the Year
Pharrell Williams – “Happy” 
Beyoncé – “Partition”
Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – “Drunk In Love”
Chris Brown – “Fine China”
Drake – “Worst Behavior”

Best Male Hip Hop Artist
J. Cole
Kendrick Lamar

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Nicki Minaj 
Angel Haze
Charli Baltimore
Iggy Azalea

Best Group
Young Money 
A$AP Mob
Daft Punk
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Subway Sportsman of the Year
Kevin Durant 
Floyd Mayweather Jr.
Carmelo Anthony
Blake Griffin
LeBron James

Subway Sportswoman of the Year
Serena Williams 
Brittney Griner
Lolo Jones
Skylar Diggins
Venus Williams

Best Gospel Artist
Tamela Mann 
Donnie McClurkin
Erica Campbell
Hezekiah Walker
Tye Tribbett

Best New Artist
August Alsina 
Ariana Grande
Mack Wilds
Rich Homie Quan
ScHoolboy Q

YoungStars Award
KeKe Palmer 
Gabrielle Douglas
Jacob Latimore
Jaden Smith

Centric Award
Jhené Aiko – “The Worst” 
Aloe Blacc – “The Man”
Jennifer Hudson f/ T.I. – “I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)”
LiV Warfield – “Why Do You Lie?”
Wale f/ Sam Dew – “LoveHate Thing”

Best International Act: UK
Krept & Konan 
Dizzee Rascal
Laura Mvula
Rita Ora
Tinie Tempah

Video Director of the Year
Hype Williams 
Benny Boom
Chris Brown
Colin Tilley
Director X

Best International Act: Africa
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Toofan (Togo)

Tags: BET BET Awards News Summer TV

comments powered by Disqus