Academy Awards 2014: Jason Bateman, Jennifer Lopez Among Actors Invited to Join Oscar Committee

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science has sent out 276 invitations to actors, asking them to be apart of the prestigious club that chooses the best films of the year. Those that accept the invitations the Academy has sent out will join the club of other filmmakers and actors who have had their body deemed up tot the standard the Academy holds itself.

“These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today,” said Academy President Hawk Koch in a press release. “Their talent and creativity have captured the imagination of audiences worldwide, and I am proud to welcome each of them to the Academy.”

Deadline has the complete list of the 276 names but we managed to pick out some highlights.

Jason Bateman, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and director Todd Phillips headline the list of people that audiences would be familiar with but the rabbit hole goes much deeper and includes set and costume designers, cinematographers and screenwriters among other behind the scenes jobs.

Other actors who have been invited to join the committee include Danny Trejo, Milla Jovovich, Michael Peña, Lena Dunham, Rosario Dawson and Jennifer Lopez.

It’s a true honor to be invited to this committee and the complete list of those invited proves that Hollywood still has plenty of talented originals in a world and business that likes to recycle itself. There are some odd names that don’t neccesarily stick out as elite Hollywood talent, but every person on the list has produced a body of work that most would kill for and that may be the greatest honor of all.

They’re not winning an Academy Award but to be associated with the process is quite the honor and 276 more names in Hollywood have now truly made it.