What book was thrown at Jesper’s head in Shadow and Bone?

SHADOW & BONE (L to R) FREDDY CARTER as KAZ BREKKER, KIT YOUNG as JESPER FAHEY and AMITA SUMAN as INEJ GHAFA in of SHADOW & BONE Cr. David Appleby/Netflix © 2021
SHADOW & BONE (L to R) FREDDY CARTER as KAZ BREKKER, KIT YOUNG as JESPER FAHEY and AMITA SUMAN as INEJ GHAFA in of SHADOW & BONE Cr. David Appleby/Netflix © 2021 /
facebooktwitterreddit

Jesper Fahey is a fan-favorite character for fans of Shadow and Bone, whether it’s the character from the books or the version from the Netflix adaptation fabulously played by Kit Young.

The gunslinger and member of the Crows gets into his fair share of scrapes and adventures. He even managed to befriend an extremely adorable goat named Milo. I mean, who doesn’t love Milo?

And while Jesper is a character that fans love and talk about often, there is one scene that isn’t getting enough attention. It’s when Jesper hilariously gets a book thrown at him. But there’s a deeper significance to that scene and the devil is in the details.

Netflix gives a nod to the Grisha Trilogy

When Jesper gets a book tossed at him by David and incredulously shows his companions the book, it’s easy to just write that moment off as comedy. And it was funny. But if you look closely at the book you might notice something vaguely familiar about it.

If you can’t figure out why it’s familiar, let me give you a hint. Shadow and Bone is based on the best-selling book series by Leigh Bardugo.

If that hint isn’t enough to spark the answer, or you just don’t know, then let the author herself Leigh Bardugo give you the answer. She took to Twitter last year during the production of the show to reveal that there would be a special Ravkan edition of the Shadow and Bone book used in the show. She also said that it was one of her favorite scenes. It was one of my favorites too.

Leigh even posted a picture of the book on her Twitter and you will see that it matches the book used in the show. It’s very cool when productions give little nods to their source material so this was a nice touch. It shows how much love and care went into the details and the making of this show.

The book itself also just looks really cool? I’m pretty sure Netflix and the book publishers are missing out on a big opportunity here by not mass producing Ravkan editions of Shadow and Bone. I know I would buy one, and I don’t think I’m the only one.

The Ravkan edition of Shadow and Bone isn’t the only significant prop included in the show either. You’ll notice that there was a moment in episode 3 where the Apparat gave Alina a beautiful red book. Well, that book happens to be a real book written by Leigh called The Lives of Saints and you can purchase it from most booksellers. How cool is that? It’s almost like you can own your very own prop from the show.

Next. Shadow & Bone relationship breakdown: Darklina & more. dark

Did you realize what those books were when you watched? Would you buy a Ravkan edition of Shadow and Bone? Let us know!

Shadow and Bone is now streaming on Netflix.