King Charles Coronation start time in the US: When does the Coronation start?

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM - 2023/05/04: A huge crown installation decorates Marble Arch ahead of the coronation of King Charles III, which takes place on May 6th. (Photo by Vuk Valcic/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)
LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM - 2023/05/04: A huge crown installation decorates Marble Arch ahead of the coronation of King Charles III, which takes place on May 6th. (Photo by Vuk Valcic/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images) /
facebooktwitterreddit

However you may feel about it, the Coronation of King Charles III is set to be one of the most-watched events in history. Millions of audiences from around the globe will be tuning in. If you are in the U.S., what time should you tune in? And where can you even watch it? We’ve done the research so you don’t have to!

King Charles III and Queen Consort Camilla will be crowned on Saturday, May 6. Among the list of guests and celebrities, we have Katy Perry, Lionel Richie, David and Victoria Beckham, among others. We are missing others, but it is still not a very long list of guests as many declined the invitation or request to perform at the Coronation Concert.

When does the Coronation start in the United States?

If you plan on watching the coronation and you live in the states, be ready for a bright and early Saturday morning. The coronation beings at 11 a.m. British Standard Time, which means 3 a.m. PT/5 a.m. CT/6 a.m. ET. Coronation pre-events will be kick off at least an hour earlier from the time the event is set to start.

What time does the Coronation Concert start?

If you are more interested in the Coronation Concert than anything else, we have good news. You don’t have to wake up early on a Saturday morning, because the concert and party will take place Sunday night at 7 p.m. local time, which is 2 p.m. ET and 11 a.m. PT for those in the states.

Set to attend the concert, are the King and Queen along with other members of the royal family. Additionally, we should see celebrity guests and performers. Now, the concert won’t be broadcasted as much as the coronation will be, but you can still tune in as it will air live across the BBC, so be sure to watch on BBC, BBC iPlayer, and BBC Radio 2.

Who is performing at the Coronation Concert?

Confirmed to be performing, we have:

  • Take That
  • Lionel Richie
  • Katy Perry
  • Andrea Bocelli
  • Sir Bryn Terfel
  • Freya Ridings
  • Alexis Ffrench
  • Olly Murs
  • Nicole Scherzinger
  • Lang Lang
  • Tiwa Savage
  • And others

Will you be watching the big event?

dark. Next. How to watch the Coronation Concert (On TV and online)