Lawmen: Bass Reeves release date, cast and more to know

Updated: Sept. 8, 2023 – The Yellowstone universe is expanding this fall with the new spin-off Lawmen: Bass Reeves! Find out who stars in it and what we know of its release!

Since its premiere, Yellowstone has become one of TV’s biggest hits. The Taylor Sheridan drama has seen some behind-the-scenes issues that have led to the announcement it will soon be ending. However, the show has spawned a new franchise with the spin-offs 1883 and 1923. Now, it will tackle a unique tale bringing one of history’s most amazing figures to life.

What is Lawmen: Bass Reeves about?

Lawman is set to be a new anthology series from Taylor Sheridan, with each limited series focusing on a different historic law enforcement figure. For the inaugural version, they’ve chosen Bass Reeves, the Black sheriff who overcame the bigotries of the time to capture over 3,000 criminals.

The show will focus on Reeves as he handles post-Civil War America and some of his biggest cases and manhunts.

Lawmen: Bass Reeves will bring the legendary lawman and outlaws of the Wild West to life. Reeves, known as the greatest frontier hero in American history, worked in the post-Reconstruction era as a federal peace officer in the Indian Territory, capturing over 3,000 of the most dangerous criminals without ever being wounded. Lawmen: Bass Reeves is an anthology series with future iterations to follow featuring other iconic lawmen and outlaws who have impacted history.

Lawmen: Bass Reeves cast

David Oyelowo (Selma) plays Reeves with Dennis Quaid as a U.S. Marshal who becomes his ally. The supporting cast includes Barry Pepper, Garrett Hedlund, and Donald Sutherland as the “Hanging Judge” Isaac Parker.

  • David Oyelowo as Bass Reeves
  • Dennis Quaid as Sherrill Lynn
  • Forrest Goodluck as Billy Crow
  • Lauren E. Banks as Jennie Reeves
  • Barry Pepper as Esau Pierce
  • Grantham Coleman as Edwin Jones
  • Demi Singleton as Sally Reeves
  • Garrett Hedlund as Garrett Montgomery
  • Donald Sutherland as Judge Isaac Parker

How many episodes are in Lawmen: Bass Reeves?

The show will have eight episodes total, which fits for the other Yellowstone spin-offs and a good binge to enjoy on Paramount+.

Lawmen: Bass Reeves release date

The series will premiere Sunday, Nov. 5 with its first two episodes.

When is the Lawmen: Bass Reeves finale?

If the series doesn’t take any breaks, the finale will be available to stream on Dec. 17.

Lawmen: Bass Reeves release schedule

  • Episodes 1-2: Nov. 5
  • Episode 3: Nov. 12
  • Episode 4: Nov. 19
  • Episode 5: Nov. 26
  • Episode 6: Dec. 3
  • Episode 7: Dec. 10
  • Episode 8: Dec. 17

Lawmen: Bass Reeves trailer

Watch the teaser trailer below:

Lawmen: Bass Reeves premieres Nov. 5 on Paramount+.