Tune in to the Film Independent Spirit Awards 2024 with this streaming watch guide

Here's all the details on how you can tune in to IMDb and Film Independent to watch the awards ceremony.
Credit: Film Independent
Credit: Film Independent /

Of course many of us awards show fans are familiar with the bigger events like the Golden Globes, the Oscars, SAG Awards, and more. But, we can't forget about the smaller ones too! That doesn't mean they aren't star-filled events either. One ceremony we're excited about is the Film Independent Spirit Awards 2024!

The 2024 Film Independent Spirit Awards begins streaming this evening, Feb. 25, 2024 live from the Santa Monica's beachfront Casa Del Mar hotel in California where stars will be walking the blue (not red!) carpet ahead of the ceremony. Our host for the night is comedian and actress Aidy Bryant known best for her work on Saturday Night Live.

How to watch on streaming

There's two main ways to tune in to the awards show tonight. The 39th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards begins streaming at 5 p.m. ET on IMDB and Film Independent. The show typically runs for about two hours.

Release time by time zone

  • Eastern: 5 p.m. ET
  • Central: 4 p.m. CT
  • Pacific: 2 p.m. PT
  • Mountain: 6 p.m. MT

You can access the show two ways: either through IMDb's YouTube or X pages, or on Film Independent's same platforms as well. That means tuning in to the ceremony is free! And what makes it so easy and accessible is that you don't have to sign up for anything. Just click on one of the links of your preferred choice, and start watching when it's time! We shared those links below:


How to watch



X (formerly Twitter)

Film Independent


X (formerly Twitter)

The great news is that the show will be available to watch in full on YouTube through IMDb or Film Independent for at least four weeks after it airs live. That way if you can't tune in this evening or want to rewatch parts of it, you can for a while!

Quinta Brunson
75th Primetime Emmy Awards - Arrivals / Neilson Barnard/GettyImages

Spirit Awards 2024 presenters and nominees

Killers of the Flower Moon star Lily Gladstone is this year's honorary chair. Per Film Independent, the position is given to an "individual who exemplifies outstanding artistic achievement and embodies Film Independent’s mission." The actress is nominated as a writer on The Unkown Country.

There's a whole host of presenters lined up to appear at the Spirit Awards 2024, including Sterling K. Brown, Abbott Elementary's Quinta Brunson, Adam Brody, Emma Corrin, and more. Check out the full list below:

  • Joel Kim Booster
  • Adam Brody
  • Danielle Brooks
  • Sterling K. Brown
  • Quinta Brunson
  • Emma Corrin
  • Colman Domingo
  • Hannah Einbinder
  • Jim Gaffigan
  • Ronald Gladden
  • Stephanie Hsu
  • Anna Kendrick
  • Jude Law
  • Greta Lee
  • Zoe Lister-Jones
  • Trace Lysette
  • James Marsden
  • Thomasin McKenzie
  • Natalie Morales
  • Rashida “Sheedz” Olayiwola
  • Emma Roberts
  • Andrew Scott
  • Milo Ventimiglia
  • Jessica Williams
  • Jimmy O. Yang

Film and television nominations

The awards show recognizes those in film and television, with a total of 23 categories this year. Those include Best Feature, Best Lead Performance in film, Best New Scripted Series, Best Lead in a New Scripted Series. We shared them all below, and they are all also available on the Film Independent website:

© 2023 Orion Releasing LLC. All Rights Reserved. /


Best Feature

All of Us Strangers
American Fiction
May December
Past Lives
We Grown Now

Best First Feature

All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Earth Mama
A Thousand and One
Upon Entry

Best Lead Performance

Jessica Chastain, Memory
Greta Lee, Past Lives
Trace Lysette, Monica
Natalie Portman, May December
Judy Reyes, Birth/Rebirth
Franz Rogowski, Passages
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers
Teyana Taylor, A Thousand and One
Jeffrey Wright, American Fiction
Teo Yoo, Past Lives

Best Supporting Performance

Erika Alexander, American Fiction
Sterling K. Brown, American Fiction
Noah Galvin, Theater Camp
Anne Hathaway, Eileen
Glenn Howerton, BlackBerry
Marin Ireland, Eileen
Charles Melton, May December
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers
Catalina Saavedra, Rotting in the Sun
Ben Whishaw, Passages

Best Breakthrough Performance

Marshawn Lynch, Bottoms
Atibon Nazaire, Mountains
Tia Nomore, Earth Mama
Dominic Sessa, The Holdovers
Anaita Wali Zada, Fremont

Best Director

Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers
Todd Haynes, May December
William Oldroyd, Eileen
Ira Sachs, Passages
Celine Song, Past Lives

Best Screenplay

David Hemingson, The Holdovers
Cord Jefferson, American Fiction
Laura Moss, Brendan J. O’Brien, Birth/Rebirth
Emma Seligman, Rachel Sennott, Bottoms
Celine Song, Past Lives

Best First Screenplay

Samy Burch; Story by Samy Burch, Alex Mechanik, May December
Noah Galvin, Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman, Ben Platt, Theater Camp
Tomás Gómez Bustillo, Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Laurel Parmet, The Starling Girl
Alejandro Rojas, Juan Sebastián Vásquez, Upon Entry

Best Cinematography

Katelin Arizmendi, Monica
Eigil Bryld, The Holdovers
Jomo Fray, All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
Pablo Lozano, Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Pat Scola, We Grown Now

Best Editing

Santiago Cendejas, Gabriel Díaz, Sofía Subercaseaux, Rotting in the Sun
Stephanie Filo, We Grown Now
Daniel Garber, How to Blow Up a Pipeline 
Jon Philpot, Theater Camp
Emanuele Tiziani, Upon Entry

Best Documentary

Bye Bye Tiberias
Four Daughters
Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project
Kokomo City
The Mother of All Lies

Best International Film

Anatomy of a Fall
Mami Wata
The Zone of Interest

Robert Altman Award

Showing Up
Director: Kelly Reichardt
Casting Director: Gayle Keller
Ensemble Cast: André Benjamin, Hong Chau, Judd Hirsch, Heather Lawless, James Le Gros, John Magaro, Matt Malloy, Amanda Plummer, Maryann Plunkett, Denzel Rodriguez, Michelle Williams

John Cassavetes Award

The Artifice Girl
Cadejo Blanco
Rotting in the Sun 
The Unknown Country

Producers Award

Rachael Fung
Graham Swon
Monique Walto

Someone to Watch Award

Joanna Arnow, Director of The Feeling That the Time for Doing Something Has Passed
Laura Moss, Director of Birth/Rebirth
Monica Sorelle, Director of Mountains

Truer Than Fiction Award

Set Hernandez, Director of unseen
Jesse Short Bull, Laura Tomaselli, Director of Lakota Nation vs. United States
Sierra Urich, Director of Joonam

Cr. Andrew Cooper/Netflix © 2023 /


Best New Scripted Series

Dreaming Whilst Black
I'm a Virgo
Jury Duty

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

Deadlocked: How America Shaped the Supreme Court
Dear Mama
Murder in Big Horn 
Stolen Youth: Inside the Cult at Sarah Lawrence

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Emma Corrin, A Murder at the End of the World
Dominique Fishback, Swarm
Betty Gilpin, Mrs. Davis
Jharrel Jerome, I’m a Virgo
Zoe Lister-Jones, Slip
Bel Powley, A Small Light
Bella Ramsey, The Last of Us
Ramón Rodríguez, Will Trent
Ali Wong, Beef
Steven Yeun, Beef

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Murray Bartlett, The Last of Us
Billie Eilish, Swarm
Jack Farthing, Rain Dogs
Nick Offerman, The Last of Us
Adina Porter, The Changeling
Lewis Pullman, Lessons in Chemistry
Benny Safdie, The Curse
Luke Tennie, Shrinking
Olivia Washington, I’m a Virgo
Jessica Williams, Shrinking

Best Breakthrough Performance in a New Scripted Serie

Clark Backo, The Changeling
Aria Mia Loberti, All the Light We Cannot See
Adjani Salmon, Dreaming Whilst Black
Keivonn Montreal Woodard, The Last of Us
Kara Young, I’m a Virgo

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Winner (announced early): Jury Duty

Next. Everything to know about Oscars 2024 on ABC. Everything to know about Oscars 2024 on ABC. dark