Seven Deadly Sins lore: The basis for the seven demons

SUPERNATURAL -- "The Magnificent Seven"-- Photo by Sergei Bachlakov/The CW -- Cw TV PR
SUPERNATURAL -- "The Magnificent Seven"-- Photo by Sergei Bachlakov/The CW -- Cw TV PR /

The Supernatural Season 3 premiere gave us the Seven Deadly Sins, with a look at how they play a part in the series. Here’s a look at the show’s lore and the real legends and references.

In the Supernatural Season 3 premiere, we got an introduction to the Seven Deadly Sins. Unfortunately, they didn’t stick around for long, proving themselves too prideful, lustful, and even greedy to take out the Winchesters. Once they had their eyes set on a target, they had to fight.

Here’s a look at the lore used for the series, along with the real lore about the Seven Deadly Sins. It’s a chance to delve into the characters more and what could have been.

Seven Deadly Sins in Supernatural

More from Supernatural

In the Season 3 premiere, we were introduced to the seven demons that would be the Seven Deadly Sins. Envy made a point that the sins were all human–they were typical human nature that nobody could avoid. Later we would learn that all demons were once human and this speech would have far more meaning.

They’d clearly been individuals whose souls had been twisted to turn them into demons. Their sins to send them to Hell clearly were the sins they were as demons, even though this was never confirmed in the series.

As they were demons, they were susceptible to the same weaknesses as other demons.

SUPERNATURAL — “The Magnificent Seven”– Photo by Sergei Bachlakov/The CW — Cw TV PR
SUPERNATURAL — “The Magnificent Seven”– Photo by Sergei Bachlakov/The CW — Cw TV PR /

The real Seven Deadly Sins

The Seven Deadly Sins have a root in Biblical lore. People have always been full of sin and temptation thanks to Lucifer and the Garden of Eden. The Seven Deadly Sins are considered the root of all other sins. Everyone will suffer from at least one: and those who don’t think they suffer from one will suffer from Pride.

Pride is considered the worst of all sins because Lucifer was prideful when he rebelled against God. When someone suffers from Pride, they have an inability to recognize God’s abilities.

The sins weren’t always Pride, Envy, Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Anger, and Sloth. The Sacred Origins of Profound Things stated there were eight: Gluttony, Lust, Avarice, Sadness, Anger, Acedia, Vainglory, and Pride. Acedia came from the Greek for “not to care,” which was viewed as “spiritual sloth.”

Pope Gregory the Great reduced the list to seven and changed a few of the names of some. For example, Vainglory and Pride were combined into one, as were Acedia and Sadness. In the seventh century, Sadness was replaced with Sloth. It wasn’t until the Middle Ages that the sins as they are now were known. Notably, this is when in Supernatural Season 3, Bobby says that the Seven Deadly Sins haven’t been seen.

Next: Djinn lore: The legends in Supernatural and real life

Did you know the truth about the Seven Deadly Sins? Would you have liked to see more of them in Supernatural Season 3? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Follow SPN Hunters on Twitter for more looks into the lore and legends used in Supernatural.